Costi: 1.


Indaga. Se hai successo, invece di scoprire 1 indizio nel tuo luogo, scoprilo in un luogo collegato.

Certa gente vuole sapere la verità a tutti i costi. Ma certe verità feriscono più della lama di un coltello.
Andreia Ugrai
L'Eredità di Dunwich #23.
In Cerca di Risposte


(from the official FAQ or responses to the official rules question form)
  • If you commit Deduction to the test and succeed, you will find 1 clue at your location and 1 clue at a connecting location.
Last updated


I’m shocked no one has mentioned one of the most obvious upsides of this card: you use the shroud of your current location rather than the one you’re pulling from! This is great for clueless connecting locations, or at least snatching the last clue from a high-shroud location. It may also, rarely, save you a move action If you’re getting the last one.

Still far from an auto pick due to the fact that it’s an event, so its advantage is fleeting, but not a bad filler card at all.

livebyfoma · 20
It's true, it's not a bad filler card, but if you are looking for filler cards in seeker you either don't have the complete card pool or are doing something very weird — NarkasisBroon · 10
Yeah, the issue is that you’ve spent a card to get 1 of the clues off of the high shroud location - but you still need to find a way to get the rest - and most options seeker has to get the rest are sustainable enough that you didn’t need this card in the first place. I could see this being used in solo, perhaps when there are a decent number of high shroud 1 clue locations that you’ll expect to see. — Death by Chocolate · 1388
You could get additional clues if you are Rex, commit Deduction, or have some other means of getting a bonus clue. Seeking Answers I think is a great card on cardboard, but it is oddly situational. — LaRoix · 1634
Was also going to mention that many Seeker cards reward you for investigating. If you're location is empty of clues, it might be worth while to spend a resource, net a clue elsewhere, and use your other cards to make the effort seem less situational. Dr. Milan will pay for the card, whereas Practice Makes Perfect or Perception could be useful to help dig up useful cards in the deck, helping you maintain tempo. I think waiting for the ideal situation for Seeking Answers is not likely to present itself too often and that might be where people gloss over it. — LaRoix · 1634
Sorry LaRoix, neither Deduction nor Rex will get an additional clue from the connecting location. They both specify the bonus clue is from the investigated or current location respectively - neither of which is the location you are pulling a clue from with Seeking Answers. So you end up getting 1 clue from each of your current and the connecting locations. — Death by Chocolate · 1388

Important tech for Ursula Downs to help her get max value from her ability and defang her weakness. Sometimes Call of the Unknown will force Ursula to have a subpar turn in order to avoid taking horror, but Seeking Answers allows her to investigate a low-shroud location that's already been cleared while still discovering a clue from a location that is either high-shroud or too far away to reach. Especially late in a scenario, where the doom clock and/or Ursula's waning sanity pool oblige you to proceed with maximum efficiency, this card can be a life-saving ace up your sleeve.

ClownShoes · 135
You have to investingate location chosen by Call, not discover a clue there. — Pawiu14 · 177
I think the review is suggesting choosing a nearby, low-shroud location for Call, then using this to clear clues from the location you just left. This allows you to focus on a location while still obeying Call's requirement to move away. — SGPrometheus · 769
Yes, SGPrometheus is correct. Sometimes your back is up against the wall because of the doom clock or some other factor, and you simply don't have time to waste one of Ursula's actions investigating a location that doesn't advance the group toward its goal. Seeking Answers mitigates that problem. — ClownShoes · 135
But for that problem I would rather invest some xp and would buy after the first scenario in the know. Especially when I'm also planning to use the twin — Tharzax · 1
@Tharzax It's true that In the Know addresses Ursula's weakness as well. It's not to my taste, personally, for a few reasons. (1) The added XP and resource cost of ITK, plus the fact that it costs an action to play whereas Seeking Answers can be played as part of Ursula's free investigate action. (2) It's rare that Ursula will need this sort of effect more than once or twice in a scenario, which makes the extra expense for In the Know even harder to justify. (3) It's hard to justify taking ITK over Pathfinder in Ursula decks, even with taboo, since Pathfinder is more generally flexible and has greater synergy with Ursula's ability. — ClownShoes · 135
Since ITK is also an investigation it synergies in Ursula decks also with her ability and pathfinder. The costs per investigation are nearly the same. So this might be the sustainable solution (which I generally prever) for her. But where seeking answers has an advantage is when your starting position is the last or only location with clues, because you can't choose that location — Tharzax · 1

The usefulness of this card is obvious, if you need that last clue, and there's a room full of enemies without hunter... Still, like most Seeker cards, slightly underwhelming and very situational. Might fit in some decks though!

Is it mandatory to have a clue in your localitation? — Germanator · 2
No, you can investigate even if there is no clue at your location. See also: Burglary. — Sechen · 53
Can Ursula Downs use this as an "investigate" action? I know items like flashlight which are already in play work but dont know how this works. — vosh · 9
Yes, any event that starts with “Investigate.” in bold counts as an Investigate action and works with Ursula’s special ability (see also Decyphered Reality and Unearth the Ancients). — MaximilienQC · 1
Maybe run it in Luke and investigate from the Dream-Gate? — bigstupidgrin · 83

I doubt one thing... Can you investigate un your location and get a clue from a conected but non-discovered location? I mean, from a location that you never get in before.

I don't fully understand how It works. Thank you for the answers...

No, because until you reveal that location it doesn't have any clues in play. — Sassenach · 179
@Sassenach Not necessarily. For example, scenario 2 of The Circle Undone has clues on unrevealed locations. But I agree that if there aren’t physically clue on the location yet, you can’t discover them with this card. Part of revealing a location is placing clues on it, so they aren’t generally there yet before it’s revealed. — Death by Chocolate · 1388
Does this test the shroud at your current location instead of at the clues location (in the connected areas) — matt_pigram · 1
@matt_pigram yes, you this test the shroud of your location — alexalansmith14 · 693

Note that this card reads “instead of discovering a clue”, which is different from Burglary's “instead of discovering clues”. So your current location must have at least 1 clue to make this replacement effect work. And if you will discover multiple clues at your location, this card only replace one of them (Burglary, however, will replace all clues you discover).

ydycga · 1
The first part "your current location must have at least 1 clue" is, surprisingly, false -- it looks similar to Cover Up, which doesn't work if there's no clue to discover, but the thing that stops Cover Up from working isn't the replacement effect, it's the reaction trigger. Since Seeking Answers is simply played as an action, rather than "when you would discover a clue at your location", the fact that there's no clue at your location doesn't stop you from playing it; then once you've played it the replacement works even though the thing it's replacing wouldn't actually happen. — Thatwasademo · 53