Costi: 3. XP: 1.


Durante il tuo turno, se non sei impegnato con nessun nemico, esaurisci l'Apripista: Muoviti fino a un luogo collegato al tuo.

Chi va alla ricerca dell'orrore infesta i luoghi più strani e remoti.
H. P. Lovecraft, “L'Illustrazione nella Casa”
Adam Lane
Il Museo della Miskatonic #108.

Latest Taboo

Costs 1 additional experience.



(from the official FAQ or responses to the official rules question form)
  • Pathfinder's ability is not an action or , so it does not incur an additional cost if you have Frozen in Fear in your threat area.
Last updated


This card is generally considered a great card. For almost any deck that can take it, this is one of the first upgrades you can take. It is quite expensive, but it basically gives you a free action/move per turn. When compared to Leo De Luca, its cheaper but less flexible and will not soak damage/horror. But considering that most turns you will be moving, its not really that much less flexible than Leo. For that reason, this is a pretty good card.

But any of these asset type cards have the same drawback, and that's that they aren't worth as much in do or die situations or near the end of the game. If the game is going to be over in 1 or 2 turns, it'd actually be difficult to get value out of Pathfinder. So pathfinder is a value card, but interestingly enough, in Arkham Horror TCG, at the end of the scenario you need tempo rather than value.

randplaty · 39
Another point in Pathfinder's favor when compared to Leo is that Pathfinder doesn't take up any slots whereas Leo goes in the ally slot, which may well be the most highly contested one. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
It is also not a move action which can avoid some effects which hurt your move action. It is extremely good in Solo decks, where you need to move a lot more often. — Kamalisk · 303
Been told I could have two pathfinders out and use both ef them, so 2 free Actions - is that correct? Seems super OP. — Late · 1
The only rule barring the play of a card is if it is Unique and one is already in play. Pathfinder isn't, so no problem here. — crayok · 1
The action economy of Ursula with Pathfinder is pretty nuts. Especially if you also have Archaic Glyphs (Really either Guiding Stones or Prophecy versions) — Zinjanthropus · 225

For my 50th review, I’d like to review a card it’s still super valuable at its new taboo cost (three experience points).

Pathfinder is Ursula’s best friend, turning one free action into two. It works extremely well with safeguard, so if guardians are doing their job, you can both move for free. This card may become less useful as we see additional movement as part of the and Smith conspiracy, but a free action to turn without a slot, that ignores frozen in fear, is an extremely useful tool.

Now that Mr. Rook isn’t an automatic pick, it’ll be harder to get this out. But paired with a copy or two of fieldwork, The seeker has a chance to pass tests they normally wouldn’t have a chance at.

So if you’re ever dealing with the mythos, keep moving. Deal with cosmic horror at a sprint.

MrGoldbee · 1419
It wasn't a first priority for every Seeker deck I upgraded but I would find a way to include this every time. Free actions are so strong. 3XP will definitely make me think twice about using it in some investigators and it will certainly slow down how fast some investigators power up. It will especially slow down Ursula because this is so strong for her. — The Lynx · 971
I’m a bit grumpy about 3XP, figuring that maybe “limit 1/play area” would be better, since it gets very janky with two out. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1034
Eh, it might be janky to have two out, but there are significant diminishing returns in most scenarios. — Death by Chocolate · 1394
Yeah, but Ursula loves being able to Pathfinder out of a location, then Pathfinder in to get a free Investigate. That's pretty pure jank. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1034
lol Truth — Death by Chocolate · 1394
I do love some good old fashioned 2xFieldwork + 2xPathfinder shenanigans in Ursula. — Zinjanthropus · 225

I am about to start playing “Horror in High Gear” and this question popped in my mind: Can I use this while I am the driver in a vehicle? Do the rest of the investigators in the same vehicle move with me?

Per "Vehicles" in the campaign guide, "While an investigator is in a vehicle, that investigator cannot move independently of the vehicle". That means that any card effect that would move you doesn't (and neither does the basic move action), and the only way to move is indirectly via card effects that say they move that vehicle. — Thatwasademo · 54
(well, the "enter/exit vehicle" implicit free triggered ability also works, but from the wording that doesn't count as "moving" even though your mini-card is physically moved between the location card and the vehicle card) — Thatwasademo · 54
So in short, no, Pathfinder can't be used while you're in a vehicle, only if you stop the vehicle and get out. — Thatwasademo · 54
(and, of course, doing so means you're spending 2 actions every time you use it, due to the text on the Agenda) — Thatwasademo · 54
TIC is tricky. It has gigantic maps, and some maps that make movement cards useless — MrGoldbee · 1419
I would strongly recommend this for Innsmouth (Taboo or no). It makes a huge difference in most scenarios and in the one scenario where it isn't good you can just not play it. — CaiusDrewart · 3046
The above analysis is about right. I’d definitely advocate for pathfinder and safeguard(2) for the group that wants to get around Innsmouths large maps (horror in high gear aside due to the vehicle mechanics, as mentioned). . — AndyN · 42
Why does it cost two additional actions to use pathfinder? The FAQ above for frozen in fear seems like it would apply. — Jtreher · 9
Actually, looking at the FAQ on frozen in fear seems at odds with the comment here on this card. — Jtreher · 9
2nd para of 2.19 on the official FAQ says that Quick draw doesn't count as an action taken or spent. — Jtreher · 9