Investi solo in una prova di abilità durante un attacco o un tentativo di elusione contro un nemico. Quel nemico ottiene Ritorsione e Allerta per la durata di questa prova di abilità. Dopo che questa prova è terminata, pesca 1 carta.

Colin Boyer
Alla Ricerca del Kadath #111.


(from the official FAQ or responses to the official rules question form)
  • Q: If I commit Daring to a skill test as Silas Marsh and use his ability to return it to my hand, do its effects still resolve? A: The lasting effect that grants the enemy retaliate and alert would continue for the duration of the skill test, since it is a lasting effect, and lasting effects persist for the specified duration regardless of whether the card that created the lasting effect is or remains in play. The second aspect of the ability, however, functions like any other ability on a skill card; it may only be used during the resolution of the skill test to which Daring is committed. (It is not a delayed effect.) - FAQ, v.2.0, August 2022
Last updated


When committing Daring to a skill test, you still get the card draw even if you pull it back with Silas Marsh ability. Which means you can use Daring once per turn for free while also drawing a card!

Daring sets up a lasting effect on the enemy, and a delayed effect "after this test ends". So if you pull it back to your hand, you still get the card draw. Even when pulled back to the hand, the retaliate and alert still work, so be advised to procede with caution.

EdTheMad · 9
It would also synergize nicely with Silas' "box" signature assests, since both can pull all cards committed back to your hand.... Of course, that gets resource-intensive, and Silas tends to run lean, but.... — LivefromBenefitSt · 1022
Hi friend,I saw your review and I think it's not correct,so I asked the designer,and his answer is as follows : — Ruages · 1
The review is wrong. While delayed effects do persist beyond the resolution of the ability that created them, and continue to affect the game state even if the card that created them leave play, in this instance, the effect “After this test ends, draw 1 card” is not a delayed effect. It’s really just a separate ability—it probably should have been written on a different line in order to denote this. It’s similar to the ability “If this test is successful, draw 1 card” on Manual Dexterity, for example, which is not a delayed effect, but a simple reaction ability that would trigger immediately when its condition is met. A delayed effect would be something like: “After you commit this card: Name a symbol. If that symbol is revealed during this test, draw 1 card.” In this hypothetical, the “draw 1 card” is a delayed effect. — Ruages · 1
Hi Ruages, that's great that you reached out and heard from the designer about this--the answer is surprising and overturns what had been the community consensus about the card. You should consider sending the ruling to ArkhamDB so it can be officially posted. — CaiusDrewart · 3018
Also this is a point outside the rules discussion but MJ (lead designer) uses she/they pronouns (recently came out as trans). Not accusing you of anything but thought you should know — Sycopath · 1
So how does the card interact with Silas if he uses his ability to return the card to his hand? It's not clear to me from reading here. — Auraco · 1
Silas pulls it back before the ability triggers so it doesn't trigger — Vultureneck · 72
Yeah, to clarify, Silas does not get the card draw if he returns it as it isn't considered a lasting effect. However, the text about the enemy gaining alert and retaliate does say "for the duration of this skill test", so that's a lasting effect and Silas can't remove that by taking it back. Goes from being synergistic to quite the opposite with the clarification. — Lasiace · 21

Edit: shortened.

Great skill card for characters who have money and/or draw issues. characters take a lot of actions and resources to build a powerful combat engine and Daring will greatly help a Roland Banks or "Skids" O'Toole who are trying to branch out to do clues too still fight effectively despite empty pockets.

Note that the bonus applies to non-binary methods to fight and evade, making this card particularly interesting to characters that split their fighting capacity between and or or a character evading with . Case in point: Diana Stanley who might have Shrivelling in one hand and Enchanted Blade in the other or Finn Edwards who might have a Switchblade in hand and a Backstab in mind.

The Retaliate and Alert are rarely issues, since throwing a +3 at something is basicly a surefire way to pass a test.

Tsuruki23 · 2474
One minor thing to note is that this card does NOT seem to synergize with Double or Nothing, because you draw the card regardless of success. Hence not resolving the success twice. — 1337duck · 1

I like this card for Diana Stanley. It works with both standard weapons and spells that use willpower, and Diana can handle the occasional counterattack with her cancel cards. It is more flexible than the core set cantrip skills, which are their main weakness.

jmmeye3 · 613
I think this card is just great for every Guardian. The retaliate clause is just not a big downside when you're getting +3 to the test, and everything else about this card is sweet. I love that it can be a better Overpower most of the time, but it has the flexibility to work with non-Combat attacks. Plus, by letting Guardians evade, it's a nice answer to Vengeance enemies, Poltergeists, etc. — CaiusDrewart · 3018
Silas can also take it — Zinjanthropus · 223
For Diana it has also a nice combo with the 2 XP .45 Automatic. Because she can trigger the ignore, even if there is no true retaliate enemy around when she empties the gun. — Susumu · 334

Great evasion card for Daniela Reyes no matter what her or her target's agility is. Built in auto-fail protection as the evade is guaranteed on success or failure. The three icons mean there's a decent chance you won't need to take an attack from failing. Guaranteed to draw you a card.

It loses some flexibility because of the restrictions on when it can be committed, but gains some back since three icons might be what one of your friends needs to turn them into a one-time fighter/evader.

It's basically the Toe to Toe for evading that replaces itself.

Defel · 4
Yeah. It's a pretty great card for most investigators, that can take it. But I agree, Daniela's ability is a nice security against the auto fail. It's more, that this ability plays nicely into the card, rather that the card plays nicely into the ability. — Susumu · 334
*rather than that — Susumu · 334