Supporto. Hand x2

Item. Tool. Weapon. Melee.

Costi: 3.


: Fight. You get +1 and deal +2 damage for this attack. If this attack is successful, lose control of Pitchfork and attach it to your location. Your location gains:

": Take control of Pitchfork. Any investigator at Pitchfork's location may trigger this ability."

Pixoloid Studios
The Feast of Hemlock Vale Investigator Expansion #110.


No faqs yet for this card.


I'd like to add a bit of relevant rule "Control of Attachment : If an investigator attaches a player card to an encounter card, he or she retains control of the attachment." (Location is an encounter card.) ...that gets overridden because Pitchfork explicitly said "lose control of Pitchfork". (It is also on Hatchet.)

Without this "lose control" effect, it would magically disappeared from the ground if you (the owner and also the controller) gets eliminated before someone grab it and take control.

Location attachments like Map the Area, Makeshift Trap, Breach the Door, ... you would be unable to left a legacy for your friends to continue working on it after you get defeated. But you can with Pitchfork.

That said, this is a fun multiplayer weapon that net you more damage than its setup cost by utilizing actions of other investigators taking turn after you (and their accuracy), as long as you successfully pass the baton by landing a successful hit. They would lose whatever hand assets they have, so this is viable for a flex with empty Flashlight looking to transition anyway, or 3 Mystic that is currently using Arcane. Exploding 3 HP enemies one after another is a magical feeling. Everyone can get a taste of Dunwich 3 HP terminator Lightning Gun / Chicago Typewriter / Shrivelling (5) without class restriction.

The accuracy bonus is just +1 , I think it is important that the Pitchfork owner having commits ready to "teach" others how to farm. (Hank conveniently and thematically has 5 to farm without help, and should be able to keep commit cards for others.) It is very likely that you are still standing with someone trying out the fork after you. I imagine a huge in-class icons like Dauntless Spirit or Last Chance can be a good enabler to squeeze more 3 damages in one Investigation Phase. Suddenly, it might looks possible to deal about 3 damage in one round regardless of actual role of other investigators.

It gets messier if you are attacking an enemy engaged on other investigator and you would like them to continue the attack, they'd not be able to pick up without taking AoO, so you might need an another Engage to free them and end your turn. (And risk of getting skewered for 3 damage but that's part of the fun...)

There are awkward moments when you lose the weapon while the enemy is standing, as you punch it to death you may now lack one more action to pick it back up, more enemies came, now you are left with bare fist and a fork just standing there, unable to pick it up unless you are willing to take AoO. Suddenly, you might find yourself dealing too many 1 damage, while that chunky 3 damages are getting too few and far between. To alleviate this problem, fight Event or Vicious Blow / Strong-Armed / Long Shot that adds damage to your neutral fight are handy to get more consistent rhythm of fighting.

5argon · 8416
Good combo with Stunning Blow! Attack & Evade at once. — MrGoldbee · 1417

I'm pretty sure that Wilson can use his Ad Hoc (by active another tool) to discard Ptichfork from his hand and fight. And when he succeed, Pitchfork will attach to location form discard pile, then you can and control it without paying its 3 cost. If thats not enough, ask your best buddy Bob to give you a Survival Technique to make Pitchfork rotatable.

OnThinIce · 19
Bob sells items, not all assets. — MrGoldbee · 1417
And, perhaps more importantly, can't take survival technique as he gets survivor 0 but rogue 1-5. Black market might solve your problem, but it's difficult to reliably assemble :-P — NarkasisBroon · 10
Pitchfork was never under Wilson's control how is he gonna lose control of it and attach to his location? Also discarding the Pitchfork is a cost to make Ad Hoc work the card can't be attached anywhere since it goes to the discard to pay for Ad Hoc's cost — DakonBlackblade · 4
DakonBlackblade - I think you are wrong. In general, when there are two effects to be resolved and one of them cannot be resolved, you can still resolve the other. In this case it says "lose control" and "attach". If attaching were conditioned by losing the control, the game has a mechanism for that, it would say: "Lose control of Pitchfork. Then, attach it to your location." — Nadneseny · 1
As for the second point, it is not relevant in case you activate a different tool and discard the Pitchfork from your hand (which is what OP explicitly says). So yeah, the card (Pitchfork) is not attached anywhere. It sits in your hand. — Nadneseny · 1