Talento. Maledetto.

Costi: –. XP: 5.


Tra due scenari di una campagna, riduci di 1 punto ogni costo in punti esperienza per riacquistare fino a 3 carte che hai esiliato durante l’ultimo scenario.

Quanto uguale? Lo stesso gatto?
Stephen Somers
Stella Clark #31.
Déjà Vu

We need to talk about your Flare.

Well, okay, 2 Flares is the minimum, okay?

Now, you know it's up to you whether or not you want to just do the bare minimum. Or... well, like Billy, for example, uses 14 Flares over a campaign, okay. And a terrific smile.

People can get an ally anywhere, okay? They come to Survivor decks for the atmosphere and the risk mitigation. Okay? That's what the Flare's about. It's about fun.

Look, we want you to express yourself, okay? Now if you feel that the bare minimum is enough, then okay. But some people choose to Flare more, and Deja Vu encourages that, okay? You do want to express yourself, don't you?

Okay, great, great. That's all I ask.

HanoverFist · 346
I’ve got your #Flare right here, buddy. — Hijinx047 · 9

More Deja Vu weird questions.

Say I have Flare, I use Flare and it gets exiled.

Before the next scenario do I get to:

A: remove flare from my deck and replace it with a level 0 card, then repurchase flare for 0XP and replace another card in my deck or B: simple repurchase flare and effectively not alter my deck.

Given deja vu costs 5xp I think it having a subtle adaptable effect on the deck is intended, what are other peoples thoughts?

Zerogrim · 171
There's nothing stopping you from replacing a different card. Albeit the kind of situation where you want to swap in just one card is kind of rare; with adaptable you're usually swapping in two cards for a scenario, which you'll need two Deja Vu for. The best use case is probably when you upgrade two Myraid cards and don't want to leave the last useless copy in the deck. — suika · 7574
why would you need two deja vu, you can swap three cards out as long as you can use two flares or what not, you could swap out as many as three. Just a nice side benefit to such an expensive card. — Zerogrim · 171

The card starts with "In between two scenarios of a campaign," That makes me wonder if, mid-campaign, I'm playing though a side-story, am I not allowed to repurchase exiled cards before starting the side story, after finishing it, or both? Or is it considered a 'scenario of the campaign' for this purpose?

khoshekh · 2
It's strange, that they changed the wording compared to "Adaptable", where it is "In between each game of a campaign". However, the rules booklet of every Standalone scenario states, that you treat it "as if it was part of the campaign", if you are adding it to one. So there is no reason for me to believe, this card could not be used in that case. — Susumu · 121

Not a review, but a question. If you exile 3x 1XP cards during scenario 2, and then purchase this between scenario 2 and 3, are you allowed to immediately buy back those cards without paying the XP cost?

EDIT: Another question - if you have two of these, will they reduce the cost of 6 cards by 1XP each, or also 3 cards by 2XP each?

I do feel that this card is possibly 1XP too expensive as it really relies on you having to go all-in with exile cards to get enough value from it, and you still have to pay 1XP for Fortune or Fate and Stroke of Luck.

ilksvorbern · 43
I see no reason why not. There is no timing restriction on refilling your deck before buying cards - it just needs to be a legal deck by the time you start the next scenario. — Death by Chocolate · 712
I vaguely recall an FAQ entry for adaptable indicating that this was not legal, i.e., you couldn't swap two cards at the same time that you buy it, which would seem to be relevant here. But now I can't find the FAQ entry. — SGPrometheus · 506
You can definitely swap two cards after buying Adaptable while still between scenarios. You are probably thinking about the FAQ for Arcane Research (or Charon's Obol) since they have a timing condition at the end of a scenario and thus only give a benefit if you have them when the previous scenario ends. Déjà Vu, like Adaptable, has no such condition. — Death by Chocolate · 712
Thank you! — ilksvorbern · 43
If you have two Deja Vu, you can distribute the cost reduction any way you like, nothing stops them from working on the same card (or on different cards). — suika · 7574

This card appears to suck really bad in the Innsmouth Conspiracy Campaign. It has mechanics which prevent its use, and then when you want to next use it, you are no longer repurchasing so can't use it then either.

MelinaPerez · 74
Innsmouth prevents you spending the experience it gives you in the level, not the spending of experience itself, Deja Vu is no more prevented than arcane research in Innsmouth. — Zerogrim · 171
Is there an actual ruling on this? I do hope you're right. — MelinaPerez · 74
Compare to the wording between heart of the elders part 1 and 2. [Investigators may not spend experience or alter their decks in between Scenarios V-A and V-B.] Innsmouth on the other hand uses [Record this experience under “Unspent Experience” in your Campaign Log, but do not spend any of it yet.] which seems to suggest to me that only the VP earned experience is forbidden from being spent, no other step of deck editing is prevented. — Zerogrim · 171