Ends and Means
  • Q: When the back of agenda 2 takes the place of both act and agenda decks, should I still place a doom each turn? A: Yes, you should still place 1 doom on “The Greater Good” each round. When you replace the current act and agenda with The Greater Good, it becomes both the current act and the current agenda and counts as both. (In other words, the line “this card is both the current act and the current agenda” was technically superfluous in The Devourer Below, but we kept it in order to clarify how it works; here we left it off because there was no room, but it technically works the same way.) Hope that helps!
Last updated
Enchanted Blade
  • Q: Do the basic +1 and the second +1 when you empower the blade combine for +2 ? A: Yes, the two bonuses stack, because it’s not a replacement effect (it doesn’t say ‘instead’). So regular Enchanted Blade indeed gives you +2 fight and +1 damage if you spend one of its charges.
Last updated
Diana Stanley
  • Q: Does cancelling or ignoring a chaos token count as a cancel/ignore for Diana Stanley's ability? A: A chaos token is a game effect which can be ignored or canceled. If you cancel or ignore a chaos token using one of your cards, you can place that card beneath Diana Stanley using her reaction ability. This includes both Counterspell and Dark Prophecy, as well as any other card effect that cancels or ignores a chaos token or a chaos token’s effect (such as Defiance, Grotesque Statue, etc).

  • Q: I have a question concerning Sefina Rousseau and Diana Stanley. Are cards put beneath these investigators by their abilities considered to be in play, or out of play? The question arises because they're physically in an investigator's play area, which suggests they might be in play, but there are a few implications that makes me want to confirm. For example, if they are in play, that implies that a treachery such as Ants! can discard them, which feels strange. Can you confirm if those cards are in play or not? A: These cards are considered out of play. They cannot be affected by anything other than the abilities that refer to them explicitly (like Sefina's action ability, Twilight Blade, etc).

Last updated
Witch-Haunted Woods
  • Q: Is it intentional that in some configurations in one or two player, it's impossible to get the requisite number of clues to complete scenario 1 of The Circle Undone, The Witching Hour? A: Thanks for bringing this problem to my attention! We've heard a few reports of this, so the team has been discussing how best to handle this issue. For now, I believe the best way to handle this is to revise the setup so that the players put a total of 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations into play during setup, instead of 4 (as evenly as possible in front of the investigators, with any excess in front of the lead investigator). This should ensure that there are always at least 6 clues among just the Witch-Haunted Woods locations, regardless of what other locations emerge later in the scenario. In a future FAQ we will either issue an errata to make this change permanent, or issue another errata which should solve the issue, but for now players should play with this change in place. If the change is made permanent I will make sure that the PDF of the Campaign Guide on our website is revised to reflect the change. UPDATE: The Setup to The Witching Hour should read: "Put 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations into play as follows: In player order, each investigator puts 1 random Witch-Haunted Woods location into play in front of him or her, until there are exactly 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations in play (see “Lost and Separated,” below). For example: In a 1-player game, there should be 5 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of that investigator. In a 2-player game, there should be 3 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator and 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the other investigator. In a 3-player game, there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator, 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the next investigator, and 1 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the final investigator. In a 4-player game, there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator, and 1 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of each other investigator." - FAQ, v.1.5, April 2019
Last updated
Witch-Haunted Woods
  • Q: Is it intentional that in some configurations in one or two player, it's impossible to get the requisite number of clues to complete scenario 1 of The Circle Undone, The Witching Hour? A: Thanks for bringing this problem to my attention! We've heard a few reports of this, so the team has been discussing how best to handle this issue. For now, I believe the best way to handle this is to revise the setup so that the players put a total of 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations into play during setup, instead of 4 (as evenly as possible in front of the investigators, with any excess in front of the lead investigator). This should ensure that there are always at least 6 clues among just the Witch-Haunted Woods locations, regardless of what other locations emerge later in the scenario. In a future FAQ we will either issue an errata to make this change permanent, or issue another errata which should solve the issue, but for now players should play with this change in place. If the change is made permanent I will make sure that the PDF of the Campaign Guide on our website is revised to reflect the change. UPDATE: The Setup to The Witching Hour should read: "Put 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations into play as follows: In player order, each investigator puts 1 random Witch-Haunted Woods location into play in front of him or her, until there are exactly 5 Witch-Haunted Woods locations in play (see “Lost and Separated,” below). For example: In a 1-player game, there should be 5 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of that investigator. In a 2-player game, there should be 3 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator and 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the other investigator. In a 3-player game, there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator, 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the next investigator, and 1 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the final investigator. In a 4-player game, there should be 2 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of the lead investigator, and 1 Witch-Haunted Woods in front of each other investigator." - FAQ, v.1.5, April 2019
Last updated