"Not without a fight!"
  • Q: How does this skill work in combination with the ally Yaotl (which has an ability that gives you skill boost based on the number of matching icons on the top card of your discard pile)? A: The abilities on skill cards are only active while they are being committed to a skill test, unless otherwise specified. In this case "Not without a fight!" will only have its printed icons while it is in your discard pile, hand, or any other state other than while it is being committed to a skill test. (This includes an effect that says something like "discard a card from your hand with at least X icons...")
Last updated
Steadfast
  • Q: How does this skill work in combination with the ally Yaotl (which has an ability that gives you skill boost based on the number of matching icons on the top card of your discard pile)? A: The abilities on skill cards are only active while they are being committed to a skill test, unless otherwise specified. In this case Steadfast will only have its printed icons while it is in your discard pile, hand, or any other state other than while it is being committed to a skill test. (This includes an effect that says something like "discard a card from your hand with at least X icons...")
Last updated
Money Talks
  • Q: Can skill icons be committed to a resource skill test as triggered by Money Talks? A: It appears that icons can be committed to any skill test, regardless of which skill is being tested, and regardless of whether or not a skill is even being tested whatsoever. From the RR, Skill Test Timing, ST2: "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon. The investigator performing this test gets +1 to his or her skill value during this test for each appropriate skill icon that is committed to this test." This sentence makes it clear to me that icons can still be committed to a "resource" skill test, even though "resource" is not a skill type.

  • Q: Money Talks is played when you initiate a skill test. If you are being required to test something due to a revelation effect, is that not considered "you initiate a skill test" so that you aren't allowed to play Money Talks? A: You are still initiating a skill test in such an event; the fact that you are being forced to do so doesn't change that. So you could still play Money Talks when that happens.

Last updated
Family Inheritance
  • Q: If Preston draws Paranoia during his turn, are the resources on Family Inheritance discarded? A: Paranoia only gets rid of resources that are in your resource pool.
Last updated
Well Connected
  • Q: Do resources on Family Inheritance count for Well Connected? aside from Jenny's Elder Sign effect, we've not had another card which refers to "resource(s) you have" so there's been some confusion about exactly what counts. A: "Resources you have" refers to the number of resources your investigator possesses, or in other words, the number of resources in your resource pool. Think of it as shorthand for "Resources in your resource pool"; the meaning is the same either way.

  • Q: If I were to use Well Connected at, say, 20 resources, then spend 2 resources on a talent, am I getting a +4 boost from Well Connected (due to the resources I had when triggering it) or +3 due to my current resource count? A: Well Connected creates a lasting effect when you use it, which continues to affect the game state for its specified duration (in this case, "for this skill test."). This effect will continue to alter the game state based on its conditions and parameters and will update if necessary. In this case, the bonus will change based on how many resources you have, so if you spend resources after activating the ability, it could lower the bonus (or vice-versa). Remember that your total modified value is calculated during Step 5 of the skill test, so if you gain or lose resources after Step 5, it won't matter.

Last updated